BSEC-EU Cooperation

Common Maritime Agenda for the Black Sea


The Common Maritime Agenda for the Black Sea (CMA) is a sea basin initiative that aims at supporting regional cooperation for a more sustainable blue economy in the Black Sea and it is developed in the broader framework of the Black Sea Strategy. Republic of Bulgaria, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Republic of Turkey and Ukraine, all BSEC Member States, are the participating countries.


The CMA is a unique framework of regional cooperation on blue economy and it was endorsed on 21 May 2019 at Ministerial level. It is complemented by its scientific pillar, the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda for the Black Sea (SRIA), supported by the Directorate General for Research and Innovation of the European Commission (DG RTD).


The CMA sets 3 goals - 1. Healthy marine ecosystems; 2. Innovative blue economy; 3. Investment – and 10 priorities further declined into actions.


The Directorate General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries of the EU Commission (DG MARE) accompanies the process as full member of the Steering Group where each of the seven countries is represented, while the political coordination is ensured by Ministerial meetings.


The CMA has recently launched its implementation. The 1st CMA Steering Group meeting took place on 10 February 2020 in Sofia, under the 2020 Bulgarian coordination. The second meeting was held online on 26 June 2020.


The Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC) and the Permanent Secretariat of the Commission on the Protection of the Black Sea Against Pollution (BSC) are consultative bodies of the CMA Steering Group, while the Secretariat of the General Fisheries Commission for the Mediterranean (GFCM), the Conference of Peripheral and Maritime Regions (CPMR) and the Managing Authority of the Joint Operational Programme Black Sea Basin are CMA observers.


Annex 1 - Common Maritime Agenda for the Black Sea

Annex 2 - CMA implementation