(The Charter entered into force on 1 May 1999)


The Founding Members of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation - the Republic of Albania, the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Bulgaria, Georgia, the Hellenic Republic, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Turkey, and Ukraine,

HAVING signed on 25 June 1992 in Istanbul the “Summit Declaration on Black Sea Economic Cooperation”,

CONFIRMING their adherence to the principles and objectives of cooperation stated therein as well as in the “Bosphorus Statement” of 25 June 1992, the “Bucharest Statement of the High Level Meeting of the BSEC Participating States” of 30 June 1995, and the “Moscow Declaration of the Heads of State or Government of the Participating States of the BSEC” of 25 October 1996,

REAFFIRMING their adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter, the Helsinki Final Act, the Paris Charter for a New Europe as well as the generally recognized principles and rules of international law,

DETERMINED to promote a lasting and closer cooperation among the states of the BSEC Region, CONSCIOUS of the growing role and importance of regional initiatives in promoting progress and shaping contemporary international life,

REITERATING their determination to achieve through joint efforts the constant improvement of the well-being of their peoples,

AWARE of the potential of the Founding Members and the opportunities for enhancing the mutually advantageous economic cooperation,

SHARING the common vision of their regional cooperation as a part of the integration process in Europe, based on human rights and fundamental freedoms, prosperity through economic liberty, social justice, and equal security and stability which is open for interaction with other countries, regional initiatives and international organizations and financial institutions,

RESOLVED to develop economic cooperation as a contribution to the achievement of a higher degree of integration of the Founding Members into the world economy,

EXPRESSING the desire of their countries and peoples for constructive and fruitful collaboration in wide ranging fields of economic activity with the aim of turning the BSEC Region into one of peace, stability and prosperity,

RECOGNIZING that the progress of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation since its inception increased the need to consolidate the international legal personality of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation,

DETERMINED to transform the Black Sea Economic Cooperation into a regional economic organization,

HAVE AGREED as follows: (for the entire text: Charter of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation)

Contracting Parties:


Entry in force
Albania 1 May 1999
Armenia 1 May 1999
Azerbaijan 1 May 1999
Bulgaria 1 May 1999
Georgia 1 May 1999
Greece 1 May 1999
Moldova 1 May 1999
Romania 1 May 1999
Serbia 14 April 2004
Russia 1 May 1999
Turkey 24 September 1999
Ukraine 1 May 1999